FOMU EN

Menu
HomeSOUND GAZE - FOMU x TRIX

SOUND GAZE - FOMU x TRIX

7 sounds in the exhibition Present - Stephan Vanfletern

This summer FOMU and Trix join forces with a unique audio tour for the exhibition Present. The music sector has been hit hard by the coronavirus crisis. This commission is intended to provide opportunities for musicians whose planned concerts have had to be cancelled. Seven Belgian musicians each took inspiration from one of Vanfleteren’s photos to write a new song: Zwangere Guy, Sunday Rose, Jaouad, Sylvie Kreusch, Miss Angel, blackwave. en Faces on TV transform the visual into the auditory.

From 09.07 you can discover these new songs during your visit to the exhibition at FOMU. All you need is a smartphone and headphones.

Present trix zwangere guy stephan vanfleteren
Anonymous (New York, 1993) © Stephan Vanfleteren

Zwangere Guy chose 'Anonymous'

“The first time I saw this picture I just couldn’t get the image out of my head. No one chooses to be born. Life happens to you. While most people would just walk by and not spend a single second looking at this picture, the stillness of the image forces you to keep looking.”

Zwangere Guy is actually Gorik van Oudheusden. He started out as an assistant chef at the Ancienne Belgique and now he’s playing two sold-out shows there. Zwangere Guy toured the entire country with his single ‘Gorik part 1’ – a track on which he bares his soul, with a video clip that is equally arresting. Zwangere Guy wears his heart on his sleeve. He is better than anyone at infusing lyrics with emotion. He has released three albums: Zwangerschapsverlof Volume 3, Wie is Guy?, en BRUTAAL. This fall Zwangere Guy will release new work, of which this is the first studioresult.

Present trix sunday rose stephan vanfleteren
Funeral of Julie & Melissa (Luik, Belgium, 1996) © Stephan Vanfleteren

Sunday Rose chose 'Funeral of Julie & Melissa'

I was born a year before this photo was taken but even so I feel like I consciously experienced it. Not only was the trial itself notorious, but it changed our lives forever. You could no longer play outside without someone telling you, “Look out for Marc Dutroux! Never go off with a stranger! Remember what happened to Julie and Melissa!” Parents were scared, shocked and wary, and rightly so. The images of 15 August 1996, when Sabine and Laetitia were freed: when I see them it feels like yesterday. An, Eefje, Julie, Melissa, Sabine and Laetitia, my heart goes out to you and your families. We will remember you forever.”

Sunday Rose is one of many descendants of Congolese people who have settled in Belgium over the past decades. She manoeuvres between pop, R&B and soul, adding a personal twist to the cocktail she mixes. Her music is undeniably contemporary, but with the unmistakeable echo of an old soul. After previously working with various producers and singers she recently struck out on her own, and with immediate success. With her first solo single, ‘Worst I Ever Had’, she was one of the winners of the music competition De Nieuwe Lichting van Studio Brussel.

Present trix faces on TV
Roux, (Charleroi, 2015) © Stephan Vanfleteren

Faces on TV chose 'Roux'

“This photo exudes a loneliness that cuts me to the bone. I generally see music as a series of abstract colour formations, but the tangible, universal feelings that this photo sums up were my inspiration for Keep Me Close.”

Faces on TV is salacious and sensual, an ode to drum machines and Prince. Jasper laid down the foundations for the new music in the back of the tour bus, and more than ever it reveals the crackling talent of an all-round talent bursting with creativity. As a producer, he has worked on virtually every interesting Belgian artist of recent years: Balthazar, Bazart, Warhaus, Sylvie Kreusch – you name it.

Present trix miss angel stephan vanfleteren
Aids patient (Botswana, 1999) © Stephan Vanfleteren

Miss Angel chose 'Aids Patient'

“I was immediately inspired by her eyes. To me, she looks like she wants more. She wants to give, but she can’t always because she doesn’t have all the tools. I can identify with that entirely. I kept staring and had goose pimples right away. My aim in life is to give something back to people. Can I do that right now? Sure, but on a limited scale. I know that it’s the little things that count, and I’m grateful for that … but even so I want to give back more, in a bigger way, and receive absolutely nothing in return. Does that make me ungrateful? Do I want too much? Are my dreams too big? That is the role that this person plays in my track. Her picture, which reflects the power and passion and frustration in her eyes. ‘I got more to give, but time is stressing my inner peace. Said I got more to give but I need some bags and fam - man I’m deeping it. I said I got more to give, if I leave I will leave knowing that I done some shit. I got more to give.’”

Angela, aka Miss Angel, has always been surrounded by hip-hop music but only found her lyrical voice a few years ago. As a lyricist she began writing songs and spitting a capella. Not long after that she connected with beatmakers and headed into the studio. In 2018 this resulted in the release of three tracks: ‘Ghetto Superstar’, ‘Money Making Mami’ and ‘All Of The Shmoke’.

Present trix blackwave stephan vanfleteren
Harald (Eugene, Oregon, USA, 1996) © Stephan Vanfleteren

blackwave. chose 'Harald'

"The passing landscape and the meditative, contemplating gaze of the figure in the train feels familiar. The outside world seems vague, distant, almost dreamlike. Life is passing him by, yet it looks like he is completely present. Sometimes we feel like we are bound to the tracks of a train. He can only go where the train leads him, still he is more free than ever."

blackwave. is a hip hop duo consisting of rapper Jay Atohoun and singer-producer Willem Ardui. They've set themselves apart with an open-minded approach to hip hop, blending in different influences like soul, funk, jazz and pop. Alongside their live band of jazz-musicians they met in the Royal Conservatory in Antwerp, they steadily built up a strong live reputation, selling out venues all over their Europe. Releasing song after song, the real breakthrough came in 2018 with their hit-single Elusive. blackwave. released their debut album ‘ARE WE STILL DREAMING?' in November 2019.

Present trix jaoud stephan vanfleteren
Etienne (Kinshasa, DRC, 2010) © Stephan Vanfleteren

Jaouad Chose 'Etienne'

“I chose ‘Etienne’ , a portrait of a man with Congolese roots who stares at you through fogged-up glasses and gives you the impression of a man who has lived a long, rich life. The almost invisible gaze behind these glasses evocates a person who has been a witness and victim of abuse. This inspired me to write an intimate and personal song in which we hear a journey into the darkness of the inner self. I opted for a simple composition to capture an impression with aesthetic sobriety without adding too much decoration – just like Vanfleteren has done.

The multi-talented Jaouad is a theatre artist, an LGBT activist and – first and foremost – an artist. Jaouad’s mission is to unite people through art and dialogue. In 2019 he released his first EP, Messias, with the multi-instrumentalist, producer and composer Aiko Devriendt. It is a soulful album full of pop, R&B and gospel

Present trix kreush stephan vanfleteren
Makone (Conakry, Guinee, 2013) © Stephan Vanfleteren

Sylvie Kreusch chose 'Makone'

“This woman was looking at me from across the exhibition. Her dark, nostalgic eyes pulled me in. Through a tiny window I saw her sorrow at first, but the longer I looked the more I also saw her strength and vulnerability. When I look at the picture now I mainly see that power. In my song I distort the vocals in such a way that they sound like an instrument, and that’s how I have tried to translate that battle between vulnerability and power. With the dark, drawn-out sound I am not trying to show just the sadness but also the positive nostalgia that so attracted me to this image.”

Sylvie Kreusch rose to prominence as the female vocalist of Warhaus. With her smouldering vocals, velvety tones, and impressive live performances, she won critical acclaim from magazines and newspapers such as American Vogue and The New York Times. Atypical rhythmic undulations and her demanding voice find a home on Kreusch’s debut EP. Consumed with romantic extremes, Kreusch’s whisper-to-a-scream timbral fluctuations are met with brutal honesty.

FOMU FR

Menu
HomeFOMU x TRIX
Sound gaze

SOUND GAZE - FOMU x TRIX

7 sounds dans l'exposition Present de Stephan Vanfleteren

Le FOMU et Trix unissent leurs forces cet été afin de créer un audio-tour unique pour l'exposition Present.

Le secteur musical a été durement touché par la crise du COVID. Avec cette commande, nous voulons donner des opportunités aux musiciens dont les concerts ont été annulés. Sept musiciens belges se sont inspirés d'une photo de Vanfleteren pour écrire une nouvelle chanson: Zwangere Guy, Sunday Rose, Jaouad, Sylvie Kreusch, Miss Angel, blackwave. et Faces on TV.

Vous pouvez écouter les chansons exclusivement dans l'exposition, apporter votre smartphone et vos écouteurs avec vous.

Present trix zwangere guy stephan vanfleteren
Anonyme (New York, 1993) © Stephan Vanfleteren

Zwangere Guy a choisi 'Anonyme'

"Après avoir vu cette photo pour la première fois, je n'ai plus pu me la sortir de la tête. Personne ne choisit de naître. La vie s'impose à vous. Tandis que la plupart des gens passeraient leur chemin sans même s'arrêter, l'image fixe nous contraint à ne plus détourner le regard."

Zwangere Guy n'est autre que Gorik van Oudheusden. Il a fait ses débuts à l'Ancienne Belgique comme commis et y joue maintenant deux concerts à guichets fermés. Son single « Gorik pt. 1 » lui a permis de sillonner le pays. Un morceau dans lequel il met son âme à nu avec un clip tout aussi poignant. Zwangere Guy a le coeur sur la langue. Il sait transposer comme personne ses émotions en chansons. Son dernier CD, Wie is Guy?, vous plonge dans sa vie . Celle d'un homme qui utilise la musique pour accorder une place à tous les méandres de son existence. Sa jeunesse difficile est le point de départ de l'album.

Present trix sunday rose stephan vanfleteren
Funérailles de Julie et Mélissa (Liège, Belgique, 1996) © Stephan Vanfleteren

Sunday Rose a choisi 'Funérailles de Julie et Mélissa'

"Je suis né un an avant cette photo et pourtant j'ai l'impression de l'avoir vécue. En plus d'être notoire, le procès a marqué nos vies à jamais. Impossible d'aller jouer dehors sans entendre : « Attention à Marc Dutroux ! Ne suivez pas un étranger ! Vous savez ce qu'il est arrivé à Julie et Melissa ! Les parents avaient peur, étaient choqués et méfiants, et à juste titre. Je me souviens comme si c'était hier des images de la libération de Sabine et Laetitia, le 15 août 1996. An, Eefje, Julie, Melissa, Sabine et Laetitia, mes pensées vont vers vous et votre famille. Nous ne vous oublierons jamais."

Sunday Rose est l'une des nombreuses descendantes des Congolais qui se sont installés en Belgique ces dernières décennies. Elle mélange les influences pop, r&b et soul. Sa musique est incontestablement contemporaine, mais contient aussi des résonnances ancestrales. Elle a collaboré avec différents producteurs et chanteurs par le passé, mais n'est apparue que récemment en solo sous les projecteurs. Un succès immédiat. Avec son premier single solo, « Worst I Ever Had », elle a été l'une des gagnantes du concours musical De Nieuwe Lichting de Studio Brussel.

Present trix faces on TV
Roux (Charleroi, Belgique, 2015) © Stephan Vanfleteren

Faces on TV a choisi 'Roux'

"La solitude qui émane de cette photo vous transperce. Je vois généralement la musique comme des agglomérats de couleurs abstraites, mais les sentiments concrets et universels résumés dans cette photo m'ont inspiré Keep me close."

Faces on TV est dévergondée et sensuelle, une ode aux synthés et à Prince. Jasper a jeté les bases de la nouvelle musique à l'arrière du bus de tournée et, plus que jamais, vous pouvez entendre le crépitement d'un musicien touche-à-tout regorgeant de créativité. En tant que producteur, il a collaboré à presque toutes les sorties belges intéressantes des dernières années : Balthazar, Bazart, Warhaus, Sylvie Kreusch, etc.

Present trix miss angel stephan vanfleteren
Patient atteint dus SIDA (Botswana, 1999) © Stephan Vanfleteren

Miss Angel a choisi 'Patient atteint du SIDA'

"Ses yeux m'ont immédiatement inspirée. Elle me donne l'impression d'en vouloir plus. Elle veut donner davantage, mais ne le peut pas toujours, car elle ne dispose pas encore de tous les outils. Je peux tout à fait m'identifier à elle. J'ai continué à la regarder et j'ai tout de suite eu la chair de poule. Mon objectif dans la vie c'est d’offrir aux gens quelque chose en retour. En suis-je capable pour l'instant ? Oui, mais à ma modeste échelle. Je sais que ce sont les petites choses qui comptent et j'en suis reconnaissante… Mais je veux quand même pouvoir donner plus et à plus grande échelle sans rien recevoir en retour.
Suis-je ingrate pour autant ? Suis-je trop gourmande ? Est-ce que je rêve trop grand ? C'est précisément le rôle que cette personne joue dans mon morceau. Sa photo, qui immortalise la force, la passion et la frustration dans ses yeux."

"I got more to give, but time is stressing my inner peace. Said I got more to give but I need some bags and fam - man I’m deeping it. I said I got more to give, if I leave I will leave knowing that I done some shit. I got more to give."

Angela, alias Miss Angel, a toujours baigné dans le hip-hop, mais ne s'est mise à chanter qu'il y a quelques années. En tant que parolière, elle a commencé par des chansons et des prestations a capella. Peu de temps après, elle découvre les beatmakers et prend la direction des studios, ce qui aboutit à la sortie de trois morceaux en 2018 : Ghetto Superstar, Money Making Mami et All Of The Shmoke.

Present trix blackwave stephan vanfleteren
Harald (Eugene, Oregon, États-Unis, 1996) © Stephan Vanfleteren

blackwave. a choisi 'Harald'

"Le paysage qui défile et le regard méditatif et pensif du personnage dans le train semblent familiers. Le monde extérieur paraît vague, lointain, presque onirique. La vie le laisse au bord du chemin, mais il semble quand même pleinement présent. On a parfois l'impression de devoir suivre une voie toute tracée. Il ne peut aller que là où le train le mène et, pourtant, il est plus libre que jamais."

blackwave. est un duo hip-hop composé du rappeur Jay Atohoun et du chanteur-producteur Willem Ardui. Ils se sont distingués par une approche ouverte du hip-hop, auquel ils intègrent différentes influences, notamment la soul, le funk, le jazz et la pop. Avec un groupe de jazz live à leurs côtés, qu'ils ont connu au Conservatoire Royal d'Anvers, ils se sont forgé une solide réputation, avec des concerts à guichets fermés à travers toute l'Europe. Ils ont sorti des chansons coup sur coup et ont véritablement percé en 2018 avec leur tube « Elusive ». blackwave. a sorti son premier album ARE WE STILL DREAMING? en novembre 2019.

Present trix jaoud stephan vanfleteren
Etienne (Kinshasa, RDC, 2010) © Stephan Vanfleteren

Jaouad a choisi 'Etienne'

"J'ai choisi « Etienne » après avoir parlé à Stephan qui m'a raconté l'histoire derrière l'oeuvre. Non pas que cette oeuvre ait besoin d'une histoire ; le cliché est éloquent. Un homme aux racines congolaises vous fixe à travers des lunettes embuées. Le cliché donne l'impression d'un homme à la vie longue et riche. J'ai fait une composition simple et je veux, à l'instar de Vanfleteren, immortaliser un moment sans trop de fioritures. Une basse profonde et une voix chaleureuse racontent l'histoire d'un loup solitaire dont le seul salut est un voyage dans les méandres de son esprit."

Touche-à-tout, Jaouad est créateur de théâtre, militant LGBT et surtout artiste. La mission de Jaouad est de connecter les gens à travers l'art et le dialogue. En 2019, Jaouad a sorti son premier EP, Messias, avec le multi-instrumentiste, producteur et compositeur Aiko Devriendt. Un album plein de soul, pop, r&b et gospel.

Present trix kreush stephan vanfleteren
Makone (Conakry, Guinee, 2013, Mercy Ships) © Stephan Vanfleteren

Sylvie Kreusch a chois Makone

"Cette femme me regardait de loin dans l'exposition. Ses yeux sombres et nostalgiques m'ont transpercée. J'ai d'abord entrevu son chagrin, mais plus je la regardais, plus je voyais aussi sa force et sa vulnérabilité. Maintenant quand je regarde le cliché, je vois surtout cette force. Dans ma chanson, dans laquelle je modifie les voyelles pour rappeler un instrument, j'ai essayé de traduire le conflit entre vulnérabilité et force. Avec les sonorités sombres et persistantes, j'essaie non seulement de refléter la tristesse, mais aussi la nostalgie positive qui m'ont d'emblée attirée dans cette image."

Sylvie Kreusch s'est fait connaître comme chanteuse de Warhaus. Avec sa voix chaude, ses tonalités velours et ses impressionnantes performances live, elle a été saluée dans des magazines et des journaux tels que American Vogue et The New York Times. Des vagues rythmiques atypiques et sa voix exigeante forment le premier EP ‘BADABING BADABOOM’ de Kreusch. Son timbre oscille entre chuchotements et hurlements, consumé par des extrêmes romantiques et est accueilli avec une sincérité percutante.